Copyright filing at ECO

Yesterday morning, after weeks of putting it off, I finally uploaded my 3rd collection of unpublished photos. The site is somewhat easier to use than before, but still no picnic in the park. I read, I think in Photoshop User magazine, that the form filled website was the product of the lowest bidder, I believe it!

For those that haven’t checked it out, ECO This is the United States Copyright Office Library of Congress, Electronic Copyright Office. It does allow you to upload your unpublished images as a collection, in a zip file.

I resize all the images to a max of 600 pixels and save them as 6 quality jpg files. Roughly 300 of these to each zip file works well with my modest speed DSL connection. I used 2 zips, and the upload took about 25 minutes. The limit is 1 hour per session. The cost to protect your images this way is $35.

Soon, I will have the last year’s photos available for sale at my website. I’m hoping to get started on this in the next 2 weeks or so, but this is my busy season, so it may take a bit longer.

~ by earthseaimagery on August 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
