Canon 7d, first impressions, great high ISO performance.

It’s quite a camera! I’ve only run some tests around the house, but I’m already very impressed with the quality of high ISO images. I sure could have used this while photographing the dippers earlier this month!

The following are from converted RAW files, with no noise reduction or sharpening. They are 100% crops suitable for “pixel peeping”. Prints at 240ppi would be approximately 1/3 the size they appear on screen. All were from the center of the image, shot with a Canon 17-40 L lens.

100 ISO

1600 ISO

6400 ISO

I’m still learning about all the new features, but generally, easy to adapt to after the 40d. I like the change in the on/off switch location! I’ll still have to explore HD video and many of the more advanced options. So far I’m very pleased with the camera.

~ by earthseaimagery on October 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
