A Blending in Time

As you may have noticed, I really enjoy historic images. Odd coincidences also have quite an appeal to me! A chance to combine both, made my day!

The first image is one I took of the Tacoma waterfront in 1968 in B & W. I recently colorized it in Photoshop. I’m still in the process of scanning both my own and my father’s slides and negatives, and came across a similar photo that he took in 1980 of the same scene.

On close inspection, I realized that, not only had he shot from exactly the same location, but also with the same focal length lens, the 2 images would overlap like a stitch, perfectly. The only jarring note was the low tide in my photo, high in Dad’s.

I played around with layers and different ways of combining them, finally settling on a a 50% opacity in the overlapping areas and gently blend at each edge. Clicking on the image will bring a larger view.

Juxtaposed 1968 and 1980 Tacoma

I kind of doubt this was time well spent, in terms of financial gain, but it sure was a fun project!

~ by earthseaimagery on December 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
