Time flies when you’re…Busy!

Wow, the middle of March and I haven’t even posted anything in over a month. Quite a day Friday, I was just getting out of bed when the tsunami siren sounded. Since we had a false alarm just a couple weeks ago, due to a wiring fault, I wasn’t too concerned, but did look online. Ouch, big earthquake in Japan, so it’s real, if not anything real soon here. Since we are at 214 foot elevation, no worries. The surge here was interesting, but did no damage anywhere around Port Orford.

South at Brookings, the harbor is a mess, with docks and boats loose everwhere, with many sunk. Crescent City, California’s harbor is even worse. Watched a video on youtube of a gorgeous big sailboat heading out to sea, then crashing into the jetty. Quite a few are out to sea, and others, still attached to docks in groups are just drifting. Now we have a storm happening, with winds in the 45-70mph range, gusts at Cape Blanco already around 60. Also, many put out to sea to avoid the damage that would happen in port, and now are stuck with no place to go, unless they can make it up to Coos Bay.

Of course, this isn’t even a drop in the bucket compared to the mess in Japan. What a terrible time for all those people, and with the infrastructure destroyed in so many places, along with the Nuke plant emergencies, it’s likely to get worse before it gets better.

I worked on another vintage photo colorization in spare time the last couple days. This is one of my favorite railroad photos in my collection. I bought this negative back when I was 15 (1966) and living in Tacoma, WA. I saw an, ad in Railroad magazine for NP negatives for sale in Troutdale, Oregon. I rode the morning passenger train to Portland, took a bus to Troutdale, and walked to the gentleman’s house. I paid $35 for about 50 negatives, this was a lot of money for me, I worked in a library for $1.25 and hour!

This is in Missoula, Montana in the 30’s, with NP W class Mike #1533 leading Q-6 Pacific #2254.

I’ll admit, it makes a beautiful B & W print, but I wanted to see how it would look in color too. So, with a few hours in Photoshop, I came up with this result.

I do have a tutorial on colorizing if you want to give it a try.

~ by earthseaimagery on March 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
